FLEMINGTON FARMERS MARKET

I love a good Farmers Market. Where the stallholders are locals, everyone knows each other and there’s at least one sausage sizzle.

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

A sunny Sunday city hike took me from Collingwood to Flemington to visit one of Melbourne’s oldest farmers markets. Held every Sunday the grounds of Mount Alexander College are filled with stalls selling organic produce, homemade condiments, meats, eggs, nuts & seeds, honey, bread, dairy and more with plenty to nibble on. I picked up a big jar of  Pat’s Veg beetroot sauerkraut for far cheaper than I’ve seen at any store.

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

Fresh green juice + chipped nail polish (sorry mum).

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

GOZLEME

Getting There
Catching a tram the city and get off on Mount Alexander Road or Racecourse Road (10 mins walk away).
Driving
If you’re planning on picking up the week’s groceries, driving is probably your best option and it’s times like this I do wish I had a car. I’m currently planning on buying my first car and if you are too I recommend the Ford Focus or Ford Fiesta – small and zippy for the city!

Back at the markets, if you’re still hungry after the smorgasbord of food vendors (there was even Mexican when I visited!), I recommend walkingaround the corner to STREAT’s Flemington Cafe. STREAT provide hospitality training to at risk and homeless youth and all their profits go back into their programs. The food is great too so it’s a win-win.

FlemingtonFarmersMarket

Feeling virtuous I had the lentil and goats cheese salad from the all day breakfast & lunch menu. The usually dull lentils were perfectly balanced by the tangy dressing and creamy goats cheese. I’ve had few lentil salads that tasted that good!
The menu isn’t all salads, you’ll find the breakfast/brunch staples alongside burgers and bagels for meat eaters and vegos.

Flemington Farmers Market
9am-1pm, every Sunday
Mount Alexander College
169-175 Mount Alexander Road
Flemington
www.flemingtonfarmersmarket.com.au

STREAT
307 Racecourse Road
Flemington
www.streat.com.au/food/flemington

STREAT on Urbanspoon

This is a sponsored post but views are 100% my own, 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

