GIMME RAW: RAW TRADER

Another week, another healthy/organic/ raw cafe opening in Melbourne. As a long time raw dessert fan (I’ve broken many blenders chopping nuts and dates) this is all delicious, raw music to my ears.

Raw Trader in the CBD is the newest to open offering a range of handmade raw desserts, granola and chia puddings alongside hot and cold coffees, hot chocolates, juices and smoothies.

RawTrader

RawTrader

RawTraderRawTrader

RawTrader

RawTrader

RawTrader

I ordered the raw carrot cake which surprised me as it tasted EXACTLY like any other non-raw carrot cake I’ve tried. And I’ve had a lot of them. The portion was quite generous and the cake as nutty and carroty as the non-raw with a creamy, rich icing. Alongside my cake I had an almond milk cappuccino which was almost as good as Barry’s. If you don’t drink almond milk Raw Trader also offer dairy and soy milk.

If you’re not a carrot cake fan (we can’t be friends – sorry) their dessert cabinet has a changing menu of raw cheesecakes, slices (caramel was on the menu when I visited), bliss balls, chocolate bark, muesli bars and many other tasty treats. I couldn’t go past one more dessert for the road and my Choc-Orange-Maca bliss ball lasted all of 5 minutes once I’d stepped out the door.

RawTrader

Raw desserts can be costly but my cake, coffee and bliss ball came to $14.50, not bad considering some raw desserts can be up to $10 per slice.

The only negative is the location – in the middle of the CBD it’s so easily accessible from my home/work I have no excuse to not eat raw cake every single day.

Raw Trader
10 Sutherland Street
Melbourne CBD

Raw Trader on Urbanspoon

5 comments

Leave a Reply

