SO LONG SILO

Silo by Joost, one of my favourite cafes in Melbourne, has closed its doors for a revamp and reopening on July 26th. While I can’t wait to see what they’ll come up with, there was no way I could make it to the end of July without one more classic Silo brunch.

SiloByJoost

Since I first stumbled upon Silo I’ve been a regular at the little Hardware Lane cafe.

SiloByJoost

They’re an eco-friendly cafe where absolutely nothing goes to waste – no bins here! From the paper napkins which are turned into fertiliser, recycled kitchenware to making all their own bread, butter and yoghurt on site.

SiloByJoost

The menu is short and seasonal. My usual is the coddled eggs on toast with a selection of the sides (bacon, kimchi, feta, mushrooms, kale etc). It’s an ordinary sounding dish but the quality of the ingredients makes it ah-mazing.

SiloByJoostFor this visit I ordered coddled eggs with sides of kale and kimchi which were served in a tiny little terracotta pot – adorable! My brunching partner ordered the equally delicious coddled eggs with mushrooms and falafel.

SiloByJoost

We finished our meals in record time and drank our second coffees watching the queue for Hardware Societe barely move.

SiloByJoost

Silo also stock delicious baked goods and Citizen Cacao chocolates – I can never leave without at least one chocolate for the trip home.

SiloByJoost

Until July 26th Silo, I will wait for you.

So long Silo
Silo By Joost
123 Hardware Lane
Melbourne

Silo by Joost on Urbanspoon

3 comments

Leave a Reply

