BREAKING BACON: BREAKFAST THIEVES

On Sunday morning we woke up with some real bacon cravings. Like, real bad. I won’t lie – we researched our brunch options purely based on how much bacon appeared on the menu. After some deliberation we settled on Breakfast Thieves.

BreakfastThieves

Tucked back from Smith street on the corner of Gore street, Breakfast Thieves used to lie on my running route when I lived in Collingwood. Despite passing the cafe countless times (at unimpressive speeds) I’d never stopped for food but it’d been on my brunch list ever since.

Due to our bleary-eyed Urbanspoon bacon search we rocked up for a later brunch at 11.30am but impressively only had to wait 10 minutes to be seated. The tables were packed but the staff were quick to pick up on any empty seats.

BreakfastThieves

I ordered the Ms Florentine (poached eggs on wilted spinach with yuzu – hollandaise). Served with a side of bacon (of course).

BreakfastThieves

It was easily one of the best eggs florentine I’ve had and improved by a very generous serve of bacon.  I’m not much of a hollandaise fan but the addition of yuzu gave the sauce a citrusy-sweet tang that matched perfectly with the eggs. My fellow bruncher and partner in bacon opted for the slightly more adventurous Spanish Gypsy Dance (polenta rolled poached eggs, relish and black pudding) with the obligatory bacon side.

BreakfastThieves

Although I was a vegetarian for 2 years until very recently I’ve always held a fondness for dishes like haggis and black pudding and BT version didn’t disappoint. It was a little more tomato-y than others but good enough that I was happy to steal what I could off my companions plate. Overall our food was double-thumbs up from both of us.

My coffee wasn’t the best I’ve had in Melbourne but no major complaints.

We also picked up a white chocolate lamington and dark chocolate & salted caramel lamington for later. There are no pictures as in my usual enjoyment of delicious foods I forgot to take a picture. They looked like lamingtons but were more cakey in texture and taste. But oh, so tasty. My waistline will suffer living only a short walk away.

Delicious food and reasonably priced, BT are another solid contender for my favourite brunch spot in Melbourne.

So good it can’t be legal
Breakfast Thieves
Shop 1, 420 Gore Street
Fitzroy
www.breakfastthieves.com.au

Breakfast Thieves on Urbanspoon

4 comments

  1. Dark chocolate and salted caramel lamington? I am heading across town just for that (damn you for not taking a picture!). Although you had me at polenta-rolled eggs:)

    1. I have plans to return so I can photograph the lamingtons – strictly research purposes. More taste testing is probably required too.

Leave a Reply

