SORRY I’M LATE, I’VE BEEN IN CAMBODIA

I know it’s been a long time between posts, a real long time. I spent the last month volunteering in Cambodia and since I returned last week I’ve been catching up on bills, work, life etc. But regular posts are back as of…. now.

While I adapt to Melbourne’s significantly colder weather (Cambodia’s daily 40 deg + 80% humidity = all the sweats) here’s some pics of Phnom Penh where I started my sweaty-but-fantastic trip.

PhnomPenh Cambodia

PhnomPenh Cambodia

Khmer coffee (iced coffee + condensed milk) how I love thee.

DSC01208

DSC01209

DSC01202

Phnom Penh Cambodia

Naturae Restaurant.

DSC01171

DSC01196

PhnomPenh Cambodia

Chilli beef with red fire ants at Romdeng.

DSC01215

DSC01222

Cambodia Phnom Penh

Papaya salad and smoothies too thick for the straw at Friends the Restaurant.

DSC01363

DSC01218

DSC01225

DSC01229

DSC01246

DSC01248

DSC01271

Roadside lunch.

DSC01272

DSC01277

DSC01287

DSC01283

DSC01281

DSC01301

DSC01297

DSC01200

The best falafel since Istanbul at Artillery Cafe.

DSC01332

Phnom Penh Cambodia

DSC01326

DSC01319

DSC01346

If you’re travelling to Phnom Penh you only need 2-3 days to see all the touristy highlights. It’s easy enough to explore the city yourself with a tuk-tuk driver but to learn a little more history about the city Urban Adventures offer great day tours.

If you want to head out of the city and explore the countryside I highly recommend Grasshopper Adventures cycling tours. I did The Oudong Trail – ask for Amon!

Some of the best food I had on my trip was from TREE Alliance training restaurants Friends the Restaurant and Romdeng. The organisation provides training and support for some of Cambodia’s most disadvantaged youths and the food at their restaurants is outstanding.  Try the fish amok and if you’re feeling brave the tarantulas. They also run a beauty salon and shop next door to Friends which is worth having a look at for souvenirs.

One comment

Leave a Reply

