H&M: EVERYBODY QUEUE NOW

This weekend’s big news in Melbourne – fashion store H&M finally opened its first Australian store in Bourke Street’s GPO building.

H&MOpens

Now I’m no fool so I knew that unless I wanted to spend my entire weekend standing in a queue and then edging my way through a packed store there was no way I was going to make it inside the store. I’m a big fan of H&M but I’m a bigger fan of my weekend.

H&MOpens

I anticipated the crowds this weekend would be heavy on the crazy side and judging from those I saw on Saturday and Sunday afternoon I wasn’t wrong.

The new store is one of the biggest H&M have opened with 3 levels and at 5000 sq metres. 270 staff were on hand for the opening with some even flown in from overseas stores.

H&MOpens

3000 people were patiently waiting in line for the grand opening on Saturday morning and I doubt those numbers changed much during the weekend.

H&MOpens

My plans are to give it a couple of weeks before I give my credit card a serious H&M work-out.

If you can’t get enough of standing in lines, UK fashion label River Island are coming to Melbourne and there’s been rumours UK department store Marks & Spencer are also looking at sites.

H&M Melbourne
Melbourne GPO
350 Bourke Street
www.hm.com/au

One comment

Leave a Reply

