HOT DAMN I MADE IT ON A BUZZFEED LIST

Yessir, an Instagram pic of mine was number 6 on 37 People Trying Not To Melt In The Hottest Place On Earth.

I’m the coolest person I know right now.*

Buzzfeed Insta Pic

You may be wondering why I took a photo of a fan in a wheelie bag. (An awesome wheelie bag I may add, best $10 I’ve ever spent at IKEA)

WE ARE TRAPPED IN A HEATWAVE AND IT’S SLOWLY MAKING ME GO CRAY-CRAY.

For the past week the forecast in Melbourne has looked something like this:

Melbourne Weather

For all you Fahrenheit folk that translates to roughly 112 with an evening low of about 86. Balmy.

I live in an old terrace house with no cooling systems and I work in an old Victorian building with no cooling systems. I’m pretty sure by the end of this week I’ll resemble a prune from the amount I’ve sweated.

People have died, the state is on fire, we’ve hit our electricity peak, there’s chaos on public transport and there are no inflatable swimming pools or fans left in the city. I know this because I was one of the idiots trying to buy a fan on Wednesday night. Faced with desperate/sweaty times I’ve been wheeling my work fan home and back again to work every damn morning and night.

There is a happy ending to this story – tomorrow the forecast is set for a cool 23C. I can’t wait, I might even put on a cardigan.

Now please excuse me while I go sit in a tub of ice-blocks, don’t want an outbreak of Dave’s Syndrome.

Black Books

*Not the literal coolest. As the Buzzfeed title suggests I’m living in one of the Hottest Place’s On Earth Right Now, the other being Adelaide.

Leave a Reply

